Our Board

As the SBDC’s governing body, the Board has responsibility for performing the functions set out in the Small Business Development Corporation Act 1983. The Board meets on a monthly basis to consider issues relevant to the direction and operation of the Corporation.

The SBDC Board has four strategic roles

Operational roles of the Board include:

– setting strategies
– focusing on client service and customer needs
– striving for organisational best practice and compliance with standards
– delegation of operational decision-making to officers within the SBDC.

Caterina (Kitty) Prodonovich – Chair

Image of Kitty Prodonovich

Kitty Prodonovich initially joined the Board in May 2008 and took up her position in September 2008. Ms Prodonovich was appointed Chair of the Board on 1 October 2014. Ms Prodonovich has owned and operated a number of small businesses, including two award winning businesses in the Goldfields. She was the recipient of the Goldfields Young Achiever Award and winner of the 2002 Goldfields Business of the Year. She was elected the youngest executive member of the Kalgoorlie Boulder Chamber of Commerce and Industry and is a past president.

Ms Prodonovich is also Chief Executive Officer of the Regional Chambers of Commerce and Industry in WA, sits on the General Council of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry WA and is a non-executive director on the board of Keystart Home Loans.


Grant Cucel

Image of Grant CucelGrant Cucel was appointed to the Board in October 2017. Mr Cucel is self-employed, Pilbara born and raised and resides in Karratha. He has an extensive business background having run his own recruitment business for 10 years. Mr Cucel has a Bachelor of Business Degree (first class honours) from Curtin University of Technology.

He was the 2012 inductee into the Western Australian Regional Small Business Hall of Fame and was recognised as the 2013 City of Karratha Citizen of the Year. For nine years, he held the role of chair of the Small Business Centre West Pilbara and strongly advocated for small and medium enterprises in regional Western Australia.

Mr Cucel, having sold his recruitment business to a publicly listed company, now has a strong focus on assisting a cross section of organisations in a voluntary capacity, in addition to his role as Deputy Mayor at the City of Karratha.


Steven Dobson

Image of Steven Dobson

Steven Dobson was appointed to the Board in September 2012. Mr Dobson is a director of Mal Dobson & Associates and was previously a sworn member of the WA Police.

Mr Dobson holds a board role with ASIC Financial Advisers Consultative Committee. He is the president of Bull Creek Leeming Junior Football Club, a life member of Jandakot Volunteer Bushfire Brigade and a Justice of the Peace.

He holds an MBA from Murdoch University, a Bachelor of Business from RMIT University and is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Sophie Dwyer

Image of Sophie DwyerSophie Dwyer was appointed to the Board in August 2017. Ms Dwyer is managing director of Shady Tree Lane Consulting, a specialist finance, agribusiness and governance advisory service. She has extensive experience in the finance and agribusiness sectors and is an elected member of the City of Joondalup.

Ms Dwyer is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She also holds a Master of Business Administration from Curtin University and a Bachelor of Science (Horticulture) with Honours from the University of Western Australia. Ms Dwyer is involved in a voluntary capacity on a number of not-for-profit boards.



Nicolle Jenkins

Nicolle Jenkins image

Nicolle Jenkins was appointed to the Board in December 2015. Ms Jenkins is managing director and founder of The Hub Marketing Communications, a strategic marketing and communications business. With more than twenty years experience in the marketing industry, she has expertise across all aspects of business development, digital strategy, brand and change management and marketing communications.

In 2015 Ms Jenkins won a national marketing excellence award in the corporate social responsibility category. She was also an award winner in the 2012 40under40 Awards and finalist in the WA Telstra Business Awards in 2009 and 2011. She is currently Chair of Intework, one of Western Australia’s largest disability organisations, director and General Council member of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry, and co-founder of the Small Business Matters movement.


Anthony Masi

Image of Anthony Masi

Anthony Masi was appointed to the Board in April 2014. Mr Masi is a pharmacist and has owned and operated successful small businesses in rural Western Australia since 1991. These include a camera store, a health food shop, an IGA grocery store and two pharmacies. He is a former board member of Kimberley Pilbara Medicare Local; and is a Branch Committee Member of the Pharmacy Guild of Australia (WA branch).

Mr Masi is also an active member of the Kyle Andrews Foundation Inc., a Broome-based children’s cancer charity. He was Chair from 2008-2010 and is currently the organisation’s treasurer.


Caroline (Ra) Stewart

Image of Caroline Stewart

Caroline (Ra) Stewart was appointed to the Board in December 2015. Ms Stewart has more than 30 years experience as a marketing and communications professional, embracing all aspects of communications from advertising and marketing through to stakeholder engagement and corporate affairs. She is a passionate advocate for small business having represented business as a board member of the Fremantle Chamber of Commerce since 2008, including a four year term as president. Her skills and knowledge of marketing, public relations and business administration, together with owning and operating her own consultancy business, have provided her with extensive experience and understanding of the SME and corporate sectors.

Ms Stewart is the Senior Corporate Relationships Manager for the Royal Flying Doctor Service of Western Australia.


OnBoardWA aims to increase diversity on WA Government boards and committees. Find out more and register your interest.