Media release

Small business operators urged to pace themselves during Christmas trading hours

17 December 2009

With Christmas trading hours now in place, small business retailers are being urged to pace themselves to avoid fatigue.

Small Business Development Corporation Managing Director, Stephen Moir, says many small business operators, particularly in the retail sector, will be working longer than usual to handle the Christmas shopping rush during the next few weeks.

“Although we are generally not experiencing the labour shortages of the past few years, it is still important to plan for adequate rest periods for business owners and employees,” Mr Moir said.

This year, the approved Sunday trading extensions are from 10.00am to 5.00pm consistent with previous years and 6.00pm closures on both Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve have also been maintained.

These variations will not apply to shops in the City of Rockingham, on Rottnest Island or in the localities of Two Rocks and Yanchep, where specific extended trading Orders will continue to have effect.

Trading hours for Christmas 2009 are as follows:

Thursday 17 December 8.00am to 9.00pm
Friday 18 December 8.00am to 9.00pm
Saturday 19 December Normal Trading
Sunday 20 December 10.00am to 5.00pm
Monday 21 December 8.00am to 9.00pm
Tuesday 22 December 8.00am to 9.00pm
Wednesday 23 December 8.00am to 9.00pm
Thursday 24 December 8.00am to 6.00pm
Friday 25 December Closed
Saturday 26 December 10.00am to 5.00pm
Sunday 27 December 10.00am to 5.00pm
Monday 28 December 2009 8.00am to 9.00pm
Tuesday 29 December 8.00am to 9.00pm
Wednesday 30 December 8.00am to 9.00pm
Thursday 31 December 8.00am to 6.00pm

Media contact: Di Graham (08) 9220 0218 or 0432 750 565.

 

More media releases from 2009 | Media Centre Home

© 2013 Small Business Development Corporation (All Rights Reserved) Home | Privacy | Disclaimer | Copyright