The Western Australian Regional Small Business Awards

Well done to the finalists in the 2016 Western Australian Regional Small Business Awards and many congratulations to all the winners.

The awards evening, held on Friday, 11 November, was a great celebration of regional business success. Special acknowledgement goes to the award winners - the evening is a reflection of their hard work and dedication. Having already won a business award in their local area, they really are the ‘best of the best’.

Huge congratulations to Jonathan Smith, Prue Plowright and the team at Wattnow Electrical in Derby - named 2016 Western Australian Regional Small Business of the Year.

Each category award winner received $1,000 and a partial scholarship valued at over $7,500 from Curtin University’s Growth Program.

Wattnow Electrical, as WA Regional Small Business of the Year, also received $25,000 worth of television advertising courtesy of GWN7 and the production of a 30-second commercial through Lomax Media. In addition, they have been offered a full scholarship for Curtin University’s Growth Program plus an annual subscription to Business News valued at $750.


Wattnow Electrical Staff 2016




Overall winner 2016 Western Australian Regional Small Business of the Year

Jonathan Smith and Prue Plowright from Wattnow Electrical in Derby. Pictured here with Minister for Small Business, Hon Sean L’Estrange MLA and Small Business Commissioner David Eaton.





Category winners

kalyaana spa






Home-based Business Award 
Sponsored by The West Australian
KalyaaNa Spa & Wellness Retreat, South West



boq geraldton







Franchise Business Award 
Sponsored by the SBDC
BOQ Geraldton, Mid West











Aboriginal Business Award
Sponsored by Fortescue Metals Group 
Wattnow Electrical, Kimberley

temple boutique











Start-up Business Award
Sponsored by GWN7
The Temple Boutique Spa, Great Southern





phamacy 777






Community Engagement Award
Sponsored by Brookfield Rail
Pharmacy 777 Carnarvon, Gascoyne




esperance psychology








Business with 0-4 Employees Award 
Sponsored by Qantas 
Esperance Psychology, Goldfields-Esperance


physio group sw












Business with 5-10 Employees Award
Sponsored by Bankwest
Physio Group South-West, South West




4life physio








Business with 11-20 Employees Award
Sponsored by WFI
4 Life Physiotherapy, Mandurah








Business Local Achiever Award
Sponsored by the SBDC 
Bullara Station Stay, Gascoyne








The awards evening was made possible thanks to the kind support of our sponsors:

WARSBA sponsors 2016


And our supporters:

Sponsor logo small




Back to top